UN in Belarus :  русский беларуская
 
www.un.org www.un.by
   
 

News

UN basic facts

About Belarus


  History
  State system
  Economy
  Population
  Culture
  Membership in international organizations

Documents

Library

Photo archive

Links

UNDP Vacancies

UN Belarus Vacancies

Procurement

Contacts



Site search
 

Helen Clark Interview to the TV channel Belarus-1

Break Barriers, Open Doors: for all inclusive society and development for all, S.Samarasinha, Y.Oksamitniy

Belarus's Progress in Eliminating Gender inequality praised by UN Representative

Sanaka Samarasinha: Special attention to disabled people in Belarus reduces the likelihood of disaster

     Archive































60 Ways the UN Makes a Difference


  UN in Belarus > About Belarus

About Belarus

The Republic of Belarus (Belarus) is located in the Eastern part of Europe. In the West it borders on Poland, in the North - West - Lithuania, in the North - Latvia, in the North - East and East - Russia, in the South - Ukraine. Belarus is divided into six regions (oblast): Brest oblast, Vitebsk oblast, Gomel oblast, Grodno oblast, Minsk oblast and Mogilev oblast. The capital of Belarus is the city of Minsk, which is the biggest political, economic, scientific and cultural centre of the country. The population of Minsk is 1.729 million people.

The territory of Belarus is 207.6 thousand square kilometres. The longest distance, 650 km, is from the West to the East, and 560 km from the North to the South. By the size of its territory, Belarus is bigger than, for instance, the territory of Belgium, Portugal, the Netherlands, the Czech Republic, Greece, Austria.

The population of Belarus according to preliminary data of population census on 14 October 2009 constituted 9.489 thousand people. The country's population is twice as big as Finland's or Denmark's.

Representatives of more than 100 nationalities live in Belarus. The majority of the population is represented by the indigenous Belarusian nation constituting more than 3/4 of the entire population. Significant numbers of Russians, Poles, Ukrainians and other nationalities live in the Republic along with Belarusians.

The climate of Belarus is moderately continental with mild and humid winter, warm summer and rainy autumn. The average temperature in January is from - 4°C to - 8°C, in July it is from + 17°C to + 19°C. The climatic conditions are favourable for growing staple grain crops, vegetables, fruit trees and bushes and particularly for cultivating potatoes.

The terrain of Belarus is predominantly low hilly flat land. The average height above the sea level is 160 meters. Agricultural lands occupy 45% of the territory, forests account for 36% of the territory. There are more than 20 thousand rivers and creeks and about 11 thousand lakes in Belarus. The biggest lake is Naroch (about 80 square kilometres).

The plant kingdom .
The natural plant kingdom of Belarus occupies about 70% of the Republic's territory. There are about 12 thousand species of plants. The forests of Belarus are rich in valuable species of trees: pine tree, spruce, oak, birch tree, aspen, alder. More than 200 species of plants are protected by the State.

The animal kingdom of Belarus counts 457 species of vertebrates (including 73 species of mammals, 290 species of birds, about 60 species of fish) and more than 20 thousand invertebrates. Such game as fox, marten, hare, otter, ferret, ermine, elk and wild boar have a high economic value. More than 180 species of animals are protected by the State.

Environmental protection .
The main directions of the environment policy of the country are determined by the laws "On Environment Protection", "On Protection and Utilisation of the Animal Kingdom" and others. Belarus has acceded to the Convention on Biodiversity and has undertaken commitments to establish a system of protected areas and to actively participate in resolving the tasks of preserving biological diversity.

There are three National Parks in Belarus: "Belovezhskaya Pushcha", "Braslav Lakes" and "Narochansky".

Natural resources. About 30 kinds of mineral raw materials have been prospected in Belarus (more than 4 thousand deposits and fields of natural resources).

The most significant are potassium salts, the reserves of which in the country occupy one of the leading places in Europe. The reserves of rock salt are virtually inexhaustible.

The country is rich in rock products such as granites, dolomites and dolomite limestone, marl, chalk, fusible and refractory clay, loam, sand and gravel. There are vast reserves of peat. The deposits of oil are insignificant. There are more than 60 sources of mineral water on the territory of the Republic.

Print version
 
 Topics 
Call for Ideas
More...
More...
More...
More...

Other topics

Human Rights
Gender equality

 
 
 
United Nations Office in Belarus
17 Kirov Str., Minsk 220050 Tel. +375 (17) 327 48 76
Fax +375 (17) 226 03 40; e-mail

ООН В БЕЛАРУСИ :  english беларуская
 
www.un.org www.un.by
   
 

Новости

Основные сведения

О Беларуси


  История
  Государство
  Экономика
  Население
  Культура
  Членство в международных организациях

Документы

Библиотека

Фотоархив

Полезные ссылки

Вакансии ПРООН

Вакансии системы ООН

Закупки

Контакты



Поиск по сайту
 

 

Радио Беларусь: Интервью с Постоянным Координатором ООН в РБ по случаю Дня ООН

Белапан: ООН делает все возможное, чтобы мир стал более безопасным, С.Самарасинха

The Minsk Times weekly: Working for the people of Belarus

Радио ООН: Об итогах взаимодествия и планах на будущее

Ток-шоу "Форум": Беларусь и ООН

БТ: Репортаж о встрече глав агентств системы ООН с В.Макеем




 












ООН работает для вас


Телевидение и видео


Радио







Международное общественное объединение по научно-исследовательским и информационно-образовательным программам «Развитие»


  ООН в Беларуси > О Беларуси

О стране

Республика Беларусь (Беларусь) расположена в восточной части Европы.  
На западе с ней граничит Польша, на северо–западе — Литва, на севере — Латвия, на северовостоке и востоке — Россия, на юге — Украина. Беларусь состоит их шести областей: Брестской, Витебской, Гомельской, Гродненской, Минской и Могилёвской. Cтолица Беларуси — город Минск, который является крупнейшим политическим, экономическим, научным и культурным центром республики. Население Минска — 1 миллион 729 тысяч человек.

Территория Беларуси составляет 207,6 тыс. км2. Протяженность с запада на восток — 650 км, с севера на юг — 560 км. По размеру территории Беларусь больше, чем, к примеру, Бельгия, Португалия, Нидерланды, Чехия, Греция, Австрия.

Население По предварительным данным переписи населения на 14 октября 2009 г. численность населения Республики Беларусь составила 9 млн. 489 тыс. человек.
Женщины составляют 53, 4% населения, мужчины — 46.6%. Горожане составляют 74% населения, сельские жители — 26%.

На территории Беларуси проживают представители более 100 национальностей. Большинство населения — представители коренной белорусской нации, составляющие более 1/3 всего населения. Кроме белорусов в республике живёт значительное количество русских, поляков, украинцев и представителей других национальностей.

Климат Беларуси — умеренно–континентальный, с мягкой и влажной зимой, теплым летом, сырой осенью. Средняя температура января от–4°С до –8°С, июля от +17°С до +19°С. Климатические условия благоприятны для выращивания основных зерновых культур, овощей, плодовых деревьев и кустарников и особенно для возделывания картофеля и льна.

Рельеф Беларуси преимущественно равнинно–холмистый. Средняя высота над уровнем моря — 160 м. 45% территории занимают сельскохозяйственные угодья, 36% — леса. В Беларуси более 20 тысяч рек и ручьёв и около 11 тысяч озёр. Самое крупное озеро — Нарочь (около 80 км2).

Растительный мир. Природный растительный покров Беларуси занимает около 70% территории республики. Насчитывается около 12 тысяч видов растений. В лесах Беларуси произрастают в основном ценные породы деревьев: сосна, ель, дуб, берёза, осина, ольха. Более 200 видов растений охраняются государством.


Животный мир
Беларуси насчитывает 457 видов позвоночных (в том числе 73 вида млекопитающих, 290 видов птиц, около 60 видов рыб) и более 20 тысяч видов беспозвоночных животных. Важное хозяйственное значение имеют промыслово–охотничьи виды животных — лисица, куница, заяц, выдра, хорь, горностай, а также лось и дикий кабан. Более 180 видов животных охраняются государством. 

Охрана природы. Законодательство Беларуси определяет основные направления экологической и природоохранной политики страны (законы "Об охране окружающей среды", "Об охране и использовании животного мира" и другие). Беларусь присоединилась к Конвенции о биоразнообразии, в соответствии с которой обязалась создать систему охраняемых районов и активно участвовать в решении задачи сохранения биологического разнообразия.
В настоящее время в Беларуси имеются 3 Национальных парка: "Беловежская пуща", "Браславские озёра" и "Нарочанский".

Полезные ископаемые. В Беларуси разведано более 4 тысяч месторождений и залежей полезных ископаемых, около 30 видов минерального сырья. Особое место среди них занимают калийные соли, по промышленным запасам которых страна занимает одно из первых мест в Европе. Запасы каменной соли практически неисчерпаемы.
Беларусь богата нерудными полезными ископаемыми (граниты, доломиты, известняки, мел, глины, суглинки, песчано–гравийные материалы). Широко распространены залежи торфа. На территории республики находятся более 60 источников минеральных вод. 

Версия для печати
 
 Актуальные темы 
Подробнее...
Подробнее...
Подробнее...
Подробнее...
Подробнее...
Подробнее...
Подробнее...

Другие темы


 
 
 
Представительство ООН в Беларуси
220050 г. Минск, ул. Кирова 17; тел. +375 (17) 327 48 76
факс +375 (17) 226 03 40; e-mail